advisable in the public interest. Either House of Parliament may refer to the court any private bill for its report thereon.

The court is presided over by a chief justice and five puisne judges, at least two of whom must be appointed from the bench or bar of the province of Quebec, and all of whom must reside at, or within five miles of, the city of Ottawa, where the court holds its sittings three times a year, viz., in February, May, and October. From the decision of the Supreme Court an appeal always lies, except in criminal cases, to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of England, the court of last resort for the Empire.

31. The Exchequer Court, presided over by a separate judge, who must reside in, or within five miles of, Ottawa, possesses exclusive original jurisdiction in all cases in which demand is made, or relief sought, in respect of any suit or action of the Court of Exchequer on its revenue side, against the Crown or any of its officers. This court also possesses concurrent original jurisdiction in all cases in which it is sought to enforce any law relating to the revenue. The court may sit at any time and at any place in Canada. This court is also a colonial court of admiralty (the Admiralty Act, 54-55 Vic., c. 29), having such jurisdiction throughout Canada and its waters, whether tidal or non-tidal, naturally or artificially navigable, and such rights and remedies in all matters connected with navigation, shipping, trade, and commerce, as may be had or enforced in any colonial court of admiralty, under the Imperial "Colonial Court of Admiralty Act, 1890." Admiralty districts, presided over by local judges in admiralty of the exchequer court, have been established under the above Act (Admiralty Act, 1891), for the provinces of Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, British Columbia, Prince Edward Island, and the "Toronto Admiralty District," the limits of which last are fixed from time to time by the Governor in Council.

32. The Superior Courts of the several provinces are constituted as follows :--Ontario---the Supreme Court of Judicature, consisting of two permanent divisions called respectively the High Court of Justice for Ontario and the Court of Appeal for Ontario. The first division is again divided into three parts, having concurrent jurisdiction, Queen's Bench, Common Pleas, and Chancerv, the two first of which are presided over by a chief justice and two judges for each, and the third of which is composed of a chancellor and three judges. Quebec-The Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench and five puisne judges, and the